2015 HBAA Jury Members


As a defining component of each edition of HUGO BOSS ASIA ART, a carefully selected jury is in charge of nominating and selecting the shortlisted artists and the final winner. In 2015, the jury sees a strong mix of both independent and institutional members who have been faithfully supporting artists or projects in Asia. It is comprised of acclaimed museum directors, curators from leading institutions in Greater China, Southeast Asia and international, as well as independent artists, curators, and critics across Southeast Asia and Greater China. Their insights into the development of the contemporary art scene in Asia today, and powerful visions into the challenges towards the future, will stimulate the Award to make greater contributions to the evolution of contemporary art in Asia.

This year the jury consists of:

Alexandra Munroe Ph.D., Samsung Senior Curator, Asian Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York

Hou Hanru, Curator and Critic, Artistic Director of MAXXI, Rome

Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Founder and President of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Turin

Ute Meta Bauer, Founding Director of Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA) in Singapore

Yuko Hasegawa, Chief Curator of Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo (MOT), and Curator of 11th Sharjah Biennale

Arlette Quỳnh-Anh Trần, Curator and Writer based in Vietnam

Amy Cheng, Independent Curator based in Taipei

Doryun Chong, Chief Curator at M+ Hong Kong

Duan Jianyu, Artist based in Guangzhou

Heman Chong, Artist, Curator and Writer based in Singapore

Karen Smith, Executive Director of OCAT Xi'an, based in Shanghai

Li Qi, Senior Curator at Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai

Robin Peckham, Curator and Editor based in Hong Kong and Beijing